Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Improve Article

SQL Query to Display First 50% Records from Employee Table

  • Last Updated : 13 Apr, 2021

Here, we are going to see how to display the first 50% of records from an Employee Table in MS SQL server’s databases.

For the purpose of the demonstration, we will be creating an Employee table in a database called “geeks“.

Creating a Database :

Use the below SQL statement to create a database called geeks:

CREATE DATABASE geeks;

Using Database :

USE geeks;

Table Definition:

We have the following Employee table in our geeks database :

CREATE TABLE Employee(
ID INT PRIMARY KEY AUTO_INCREMENT,
NAME VARCHAR(30) NOT NULL,
PHONE INT(10) NOT NULL UNIQUE,
EMAIL VARCHAR(30) NOT NULL UNIQUE,
DATE_OF_JOINING DATE);

You can view the table description using the below command:



 EXEC SP_COLUMNS Employee;

Adding Data to Table:

Use the below statement to add data to the Employee table:

INSERT INTO Employee (NAME, PHONE, EMAIL, DATE_OF_JOINING)
VALUES
('Yogesh Vaishnav', 0000000001, 'yogesh@mail.com', '2019-10-03'),
('Vishal Vishwakarma', 0000000002, 'chicha@mail.com', '2019-11-07'),
('Ajit Yadav', 0000000003, 'ppa@mail.com', '2019-12-12'),
('Ashish Yadav', 0000000004, 'baba@mail.com', '2019-12-25'),
('Tanvi Thakur', 0000000005, 'tanvi@mail.com', '2020-01-20'),
('Sam', 0000000006, 'sam@mail.com', '2020-03-03'),
('Ron', 0000000007, 'ron@mail.com', '2020-05-16'),
('Sara', 0000000008, 'sara@mail.com', '2020-07-01'),
('Zara', 0000000009, 'zara@mail.com', '2020-08-20'),
('Yoji', 0000000010, 'yoji@mail.com', '2020-03-10');

To verify the contents of the table use the below statement:

SELECT * FROM Employee;

Now let’s retrieve the first 50% of the records from the Employee Table.

For MS SQL database :

In MS SQL we can directly retrieve the first 50% of the records with the help of top and percent clauses. A simple syntax for the same is given below:

Syntax :

Select top N percent * from <table_name>; /*Gives the top N percent records from a database table*/

Example :

select top 50 percent * from Employee;

Output : 

 

Attention reader! Don’t stop learning now. Learn SQL for interviews using SQL Course  by GeeksforGeeks.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :