Skip to content
Related Articles
Open in App
Not now

Related Articles

Council of Ministers – Definition, Categories, Examples, FAQs

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article
  • Last Updated : 04 Aug, 2022
Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

The prime minister, as the body’s head, supervises the members of the particular government’s council of ministers. The president appoints these ministers, who carry out executive functions, based on the prime minister’s proposal. Articles 74 and 75 of the Indian Constitution discuss the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers, respectively. The Lok Sabha is the primary accountability body for the Council of Ministers.

  • On the Prime Minister’s recommendation, the President appoints the members of the Council of Ministers. Only members of Parliament are typically chosen to serve as ministers. Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State, and Deputy Ministers are all represented in the Council of Ministers. 
  • Cabinet ministers, ministers of state, and deputy ministers are all represented in the Council of Ministers. 
  • The Cabinet is a smaller body made up of 15 to 18 senior ministers who are in charge of significant areas like the military, the economy, the railroads, etc.
  • The other Ministers below the status of Cabinet Ministers may or may not be consulted by the Prime Minister. They are the Prime Minister’s closest friends and he always consults them.
  • The Council of Ministers doesn’t frequently get together when the government is operating on a daily basis.                            

Categories of the council of ministers

Three different types of ministers make up the Council of Ministers

  1. Cabinet Ministers.
  2. State Ministers.
  3. Deputy Ministers.

Cabinet Ministers

The Cabinet of India (Union Cabinet), known as the “collective decision-making body” of the Government of India, is made up entirely of Cabinet Ministers. The members of the Cabinet must be elected to one of the Houses of Parliament. Among the three types of ministers, including Minister of State (Independent Charges) and Minister of State, they have the highest position.

In accordance with Article 75 of the Indian Constitution, the President appoints Cabinet Ministers on the Prime Minister’s recommendation. Along with overseeing the development of a certain ministry, Cabinet Ministers are collectively answerable to the Lok Sabha’s members. They receive guidance from the Cabinet Secretary throughout their whole term. There are currently 24 cabinet ministers. 

Indian Cabinet Ministers’ significance

The majority support the Prime Minister and his Cabinet Ministers receive in the Parliament gives them the authority to enact legislation through both houses. They also have the power to block a bill from becoming law if they oppose it. To put it into perspective, the power of Cabinet Ministers actually constitutes the legislative authority of the Indian Parliament. The Cabinet has the last decision in all financial matters. The Cabinet Ministers deserve praise for creating the annual budget and suggesting taxes and spending. The only function of the Parliament is to grant official authorization. The Union Cabinet has some influence over the courts as well.

State Ministers

State ministers, like Chief Ministers, are responsible for the development of a specific state. Each state minister is equally responsible for their respective state.

Deputy Ministers

The Deputy minister is a title held by politicians or officials in countries with parliamentary governments. A deputy minister works ‘under’ a minister, who is a full Cabinet member in charge of a specific standing policy portfolio and typically oversees an associated civil service department. Depending on the jurisdiction, a “Deputy Minister” may be a Cabinet minister who regularly acts as and for a more senior cabinet minister (rare except for the “Deputy Prime Minister”).

The Parliament and the Council of Ministers work closely together. As a result, every member of the Council of Ministers who belongs to one of the two Houses of Parliament actively participates in the legislative process. He is responsible for upholding the government’s policies generally and those of his Ministry specifically. The “Lok Sabha” is ultimately responsible to the Council of Ministers. This means that all ministers, including those from the Rajya Sabha, must resign if the Ministry loses the “Lok Sabha’s confidence and the entire ministry must step down.

Frequently Asked Questions

Question 1: Who recommends the council of ministers and who appoints them?


On the Prime Minister’s recommendation, the President appoints the members of the Council of Ministers. 

Question 2: What is the Union cabinet known as?


The Cabinet of India (Union Cabinet), is known as the “collective decision-making body” of the Government of India.

Question 3: Who has the power to block a bill if they oppose it?


Cabinet ministers have the power to block a bill from becoming law if they oppose it.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Like Article
Save Article
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!