Skip to content
Related Articles
Open in App
Not now

Related Articles

CISM vs CISSP Certification

Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 03 Jan, 2023
Improve Article
Save Article

CISM stands for Certified Information Security Manager. CISM was introduced by ISACA with some great features to meet the high status of classification with ANSI standard 17024 which was released in 2012 and is very strict with its principles, it conducts specific training, and provides better certification with professionals. CISM is in great demand nowadays, ISO 17024 makes sure that CISM should be acknowledged by each and everyone like every developer, every employee, and security occupation. Mainly CISM is introduced for cyber security, as we know in today’s generation everything is done digitally. You can get each and every piece of information about our related searches on the web. 

How to become an official CISM?

To qualify for CISM, there is a procedure that needs to pass the exam with a good score. It contains some 200 multiple choice questions which are having some scoring techniques that are scaled under 200-800 marks. The passing mark for qualifying for the exam of CISM is 450.

This exam contains the questions from the following:

  • Information Security Governance
  • Information Risk Management
  • Information Security Incident Management
  • Information Security Program Development and Management

CISM Requirements:

To approve this exam the candidates should be professional with their work and the candidate must have experience of 5 years in the InfoSec era, the minimum experience of 3 years is required in the InfoSec management era. Before appearing in this exam the candidates should have all the experience within five years of their time period.  

CISM Training:

This exam session happens twice a year, mostly in the month of June and December. It consists of 200 multiple-choice questions and the time limit of the exam is four hours. The exam question contains 24% from Information Security Governance, 33% from Information Risk Management and Compliance, 25% from Information Security Program Development and Management, and 18% from Information Security Incident Management.  

Advantages of CISM Certification:

  • It is a boon and in great demand as an information security manager.
  • Lifetime career authorized.
  • Always prepare for complicated analytic situations.
  • An experienced person can design their own system for security.
  • High chances of getting opportunities throughout the world.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional, short, called CISSP. It is an independent platform of information security certification that was introduced by IISSCC i.e. International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium. Around 2003, the CISSP was fully approved and accessed by the U.S National Security Agency’s ISSEP department.  

How to become an official CISSP?

CISSP is quite difficult to qualify but to get this certification candidate needs to qualify for the exam. The IISSCC suggests full preparation and it directs several steps to qualify CISSP. First, the candidates should be dedicated to this designation. It requires experienced candidates in the Cyber security era so that each and every candidate could get their accurate roles inaccurate fields like IT manager, Security Systems Engineer, Security Analyst, Network Architect, Security Consultant. After that, the main step is preparation and registration for the exam.  

This exam contains the questions from the following:

  • Asset Security
  • Security and Risk Management
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Security Architecture and  Engineering
  • Identity and Access Management
  • Security Operations
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Software Development Security

CISSP Requirements:

To get CISSP, the candidates should be qualified in the exam, and also requires to fulfill the CISSP exam in accordance. It is mandatory to gain at least 40 CPE i.e. Continuing Professional Education credits every year and to make payment of $85 annually for the maintenance fee.  

CISSP Training:

The CISSP  exam conducts for up to six hours. This exam contains multiple-choice of 250 questions and creative questions for checking the knowledge of candidates. The scores are scaled under 700-1000 points and this exam can appear in many different languages such as French, Brazilian, Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, etc. Mainly this exam is directed by Pearson VUE and it is conducted by VUE test centers.  

Advantages of CISSP Certification:

  • CISSP is a very high post through which the candidates can recognizable by top organizations in the InfoSec industry. This certification has a very high priority through which it enhances our qualifications.
  • It is the topmost paying job and that is listed in the top 15 in the InfoSec industry. In this field, a candidate is capable of earning $78000 to $120000.
  • Most of the candidates are consistent in this field they don’t change their occupation.
  • It has great future scope related to the InfoSec industry.
  • As the candidates are highly qualified they prepare themselves for upcoming new technologies for any critical situation.

Difference between CISM and CISSP:




01. It stands for Certified Information Security Manager.  CISSP stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. 
02. It requires 5 years or at least 3 years of experience.  It requires a total of 5 years of experience. 
03. CISM conducts 4hours of examination in which a total of 150 questions are to be attempted.  CISSP conducts 3hours of examination in which at least 100 questions or almost 150 questions are to be attempted. 
04. The passing mark for CISM is 450 or more than that.  The passing mark for CISSP is 700  out of the total mark of 1000.
05. The annual salary a candidate can earn is $148,622. The annual salary a candidate can earn is $141, 452.
06. It is business oriented. It is more technically oriented.
07. It focuses on information risk management. It covers in-depth critical security topics.
08. It has 4 domains. It has 8 domains.
09. It provides a management level of information security. It provides a deeper knowledge of information system security.
10. This certificate is for the management level IS professional looking to further develop their management skills. It includes titles such as the security consultant, IT director, manager, architect and analyst.
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!