Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Baba Guru Nanak

View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 18 Jul, 2022
View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article

Guru Nanak Dev was born in a village, Talwandi Rai Bhoe, near Lahore, in the Punjab region of the Indian subcontinent in the year 1469. At present, it is in the Sheikhpura region of current Pakistan. Later onwards, the village is renamed Nankana Sahib. His father’s name was Mehta Kalu Ji (accountant). His mother’s name was Lata Tripta Ji. In 1487, he was married to Mata Sulakhni and had two children, Sri Chand and Lakhmi Das. He was the founder of Sikhism in the 15th century and the first Guru of ten Sikh Gurus. To spread his teachings, he traveled to South Asia and the Middle East. He was motivated by Kabir Das. He began composing the Guru Granth Sahib and finished 974 hymns. Guru Nanak’s introduction to the world is celebrated by Sikhs all around the world on the Pooranmashi (full moon) day in the Lunar month of Katak (October-November), which changes from one year to another.

Devotional Paths to Divine

He pointed toward making a casteless society in which there is no ordered hierarchy. There is just a single god – a precept that is focused on in the adage ‘Ik Onkar’. This is the phrase utilized in Sikhism that one Supreme Being controls the universe. 

He was an unprecedented kid with recognized divine elegance. His thoughts were not the same as others and he would not participate in traditional religious rituals. He upheld the ‘Nirguna’ (commitment to; love of and worship of formless divine) type of bhakti. He additionally stood up against different predominant social works including the Caste System, excessive admiration, and the love of demi-Gods. Respect for women and gender equality are maybe the main illustrations that should be gained from Guru Nanak’s lessons. Guru Nanak was worshiped by the two Hindus and Muslims all throughout the Earth, and many individuals beyond the Sikh confidence actually respect him today.

He set up rules for congregational love (Sangat) including aggregate recitation. His sections additionally speak about sacrificial support of humankind, thriving, and civil rights for all, independent of contrasts. He established three mainstays of Sikhism in particular “Naam Japna”, “Kirat Karni”, and “Vand Chakna”. The idea of god is ‘Waheguru’, an element that is ill-defined, ageless, inescapable, and imperceptible. Different names for God in the Sikh confidence are Akaal Purakh and Nirankar. Many trust Sikhism to be a scaffold among Hinduism and Islam.

Guru Nanak’s idea of “Sabna Jiya Ka Ek Data” is pertinent even today and can handle these issues in the general public. “Sabna Jiya Ka Ek Data “signifies the entire world is God’s creation and all are conceived equivalent. There is just a single widespread God for example “Ik Omkaar Satnaam.” Aside from that, Guru Nanak Dev’s lessons are fixated on pardoning, resistance, restraint, and thoughtfulness. 

Guru Nanak’s concept of equity can be assumed from his inventive social foundations:

  • Langar (Common kitchenette): Collective cooking.
  • Pangat (Holy gathering): Sharing food without qualification and separation of caste.
  • Sangat (General Meeting): Collective independent decision making.

Guru Nanak’s Five Principles

  • Vand Chhako: Anything that God provides for us, share it with the destitute and consume. Assist with peopling who need assistance.
  • Kirat Karo: It means to have a reality. Try not to impact others for our self-bliss. Try sincerely and procure genuinely.
  • Naam Japo: Naam Japo implies reciting the name of the ‘True God.’ It accentuates the reflection on God’s name to control five evils Krodh, lob, moh, ahankar, and kama.
  • Sarbat da Bhalla: Pray to God for others’ bliss in spite of standing, caste, and religion everybody ought to look well for other people.
  • Speak the truth without fear: Always speak the truth without being afraid. It may possible that we lose the fight or win the fight.

 A Gurudwara worked at his birthplace in the city currently known as “Nankana Sahib”. It is situated in the Punjab territory of Pakistan. Kartarpur corridor was worked to remember the 550th birth anniversary festivities of Guru Nanak Dev, the founder of Sikhism on the twelfth of November 2019. It is probably the holiest spot for Sikhs where Baba Guru Nanak’s settled and taught throughout the last 18 years of his life.

Guru Nanak was followed by nine successive Gurus. There were a ten Sikh Gurus, which are Below discussed one by one briefly,

  • Guru Angad: He was the successor of Guru Nanak and the second Sikh Guru. Guru Angad was the earliest stage of his life worshipped the Hindu goddess Durga. Guru Angad introduced Gurmukhi script. For the young people, he began the program of “Mall Akhara”, where physical and spiritual activities happen. He is the first guru, who wrote the biography of Guru Nanak
  • Guru Amar Das: He is third Sikh Guru. Guru Amardas fought against caste system and untouchability. he Attempts to establish a social balance between the people. Guru Amardas started Anand Karaj wedding system for Sikh community. Guru Ramdas guru’s famous composition is “Lavan”. For the development of the Sikhs, he started missionary centers i.e. Manjis, and piris
  • Guru Ram Dass: He is the fourth Sikh Guru. Founder of Amritsar, this is the main place of worship for Sikh community . Construction of Golden Temple at Amritsar was initiated by him.
  • Guru Arjun Dev: He is the fifth Sikh Guru. He Completed construction of Harmander also known as Golden Temple in Amritsar. he also composited the Holy Book of the Sikh community, that book name is “Aad Granth”.
  • Guru Hargobind:  He is the sixth Sikh Guru. He was a Sikh guru as well as soldier. Guru Hargobind coordinated a small armed force. He constructed “Akal Takhat”, which represents a temporary spiritual power.
  • Guru Har Rai: He is the seventh Sikh Guru. an additional aim of the guru is to build the nation. He continued the nation building initiated by Guru Hargobind.
  • Guru Har Krishan:  He is the eighth Sikh Guru. Guru Har Krishan was the youngest of the Sikh Gurus. He was in Delhi at the time when smallpox was widespread in that area. He cured some of the victims of smallpox in Delhi. He visited a grand Gurdwara called “Bangla Sahib” in Delhi.
  • Guru Teg Bahadur: He is the ninth Sikh Guru. He was born in 1621 in Amritsar. He laid a foundation for a new town to be called ANAND PUR commonly known as the City of Peace.
  • Guru Govind Singh: He is the tenth Sikh Guru. He introduced the Khalsa (The Pure Ones) in 1699. He laid out the five symbols of Sikhism popularly known as the five ‘K’s:

                          Kesh (Long hair)
                          Kangha (comb)
                          Kirpan (knife )
                          Kaccha (short breeches)
                          Kara (wrist band)

Sample Questions

Question 1: Name the ‘Five Takhts’ of the Sikhs?


  1. Akal Takht [Amritsar]
  2. Harmandir Saheb [Patna]
  3. Kesgarh Saheb [Anandpur]
  4. Hazur Saheb [Nander]
  5. Damdama Saheb [Talwandi Sabo (Bhatinda)]

Question 2: Name the five cardinal indecencies with regard to Sikhism?


  1. Kaam (Lust)
  2. Krodh (Anger)
  3. Lobh (Greed)
  4. Moh (Worldly attachment)
  5. Ahankar (egoism)

Question 3: Name the five ‘K’s that each Sikh must constantly follow?


  1. Kesh (Long hair)
  2. Kangha (comb)
  3. Kirpan (knife )
  4. Kaccha (short breeches)
  5. Kara (wrist band.)    
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :

Start Your Coding Journey Now!